Tell Us What You Think. Please Take Our
Customer Survey.

Historical Essays and Reviews

[ Home > International Historic Films Complete Online Catalog > World Cinema on DVD > Lithuanian Films & Documentaries DVDs > Soviet Lithuanian SSR Features & Documentaries > M.K. Ciurlionis > M.K. Ciurlionis Trilogy DVD ]

M.K. Ciurlionis Trilogy DVD -

M.K. Ciurlionis Trilogy DVD

These three films, produced by Lithuanian television, present the works of the painter and composer Mikalojus Konstantinas Ciurlionis (1875-1911), an artist of luminous imagination in music as well as painting, at the vanguard of European Symbolism.

The first film (1975) combines Ciurlionis' paintings and music with interviews and excerpts from his letters. Training at the Conservatories of Warsaw and Leipzig, development as a visual artist and participation in the avant-garde art circles of St. Petersburg. A sculpture commemorating the artist is designed, executed and unveiled.

The second (1975), filmed at the Ciurlionis Museum in Kaunas, straightforwardly exhibits the music and paintings of the artist.

The third (1985), introduced by Vytautas Landsbergis (the musicologist and leader of Lithuania's independence movement and first post soviet-era president of Lithuania), combines Ciurlionis' work with interpretive dance choreographed by Maya Pliseckaya to create an original work.

Three films on one DVD. Lithuania, 1975/85, Color, 140 minutes, Lithuanian commentary and dialogue, English subtitles.

[DVD] NTSC Region 0 encoding (Entire World)

M.K. Ciurlionis Trilogy DVD

< Browse Previous Item  |  Up to Section  |  Browse Next Item >

Quick search by title, author, item number, or descriptive word.
You may also type in any product item number listed in our paper catalog.